2016 Geelong contemporary art prize (installation view featuring works by Adam Pyett, Kate Beynon, Jonathan Crowther and Jennifer Mills). Photographer: Andrew Curtis.

2018 Geelong contemporary art prize

09 June to 19 August 2018

The Geelong contemporary art prize is a $30,000 acquisitive award for contemporary painting hosted by the Geelong Gallery on a biennial basis. The prize showcases the work of Australian practitioners and enriches the Gallery’s permanent collection of contemporary Australian art through the acquisition of a winning work. Previous winners include John Nixon, Janenne Eaton, Lindy Lee, Dale Frank, John Young, Ann Thomson, Juan Ford, Sam Leach, Nadine Christensen, Tim McMonagle, Paul Ryan, Rob McHaffie and Kate Beynon.

Justin Paton, Head Curator, International Art, Art Gallery of New South Wales, and Rebecca Coates, Director, Shepparton Art Museum, join Lisa Sullivan, Senior Curator, Geelong Gallery, in judging this year’s award.